Skip to Content

Speakers and Chairs


Alec Bashinsky Alec Bashinsky
Partner, People & Performance, Deloitte Australia
Alec Bashinsky has been with Deloitte Australia for 7yrs as National Partner – People & Performance. In his role Alec is responsible for approx 6000+ employees and a team of 105 people. 
Photo of Anna Booth Anna Booth
Deputy President, Fair Work Australia
Anna Booth was appointed the Deputy President, Fair Work Australia in February 2012. Anna became the first woman National Secretary of the Clothing and Allied Trades Union of Australia and upon amalgamation, the Textiles, Clothing and Footwear Union of Australia. 
Mark Gabbott Professor Mark Gabbott
Executive Dean, Faculty of Business & Economics, Macquarie University
Mark Gabbott graduated from the University of Essex with a BA(Hons) in Economics followed by an MSc in Technology Management from Imperial College, University of London. He was appointed Executive Dean of the Faculty of Business and Economics at Macquarie University, Sydney in 2008. 
Ross Gittins Ross Gittins
Economics editor, The Sydney Morning Herald and The Age
Ross Gittins is economics editor of The Sydney Morning Herald and an economic columnist for The Age. He has been a press fellow at Wolfson College, Cambridge, and a journalist-in-residence at the department of economics of the University of Melbourne. 
Paul Gollan Professor Paul Gollan
Associate Dean Research, Faculty of Business and Economics
Professor Paul J. Gollan holds an MSc (Econ) and PhD from the London School of Economics and is currently a Professor and Associate Dean (Research) in Faculty of Business and Economics at Macquarie University. 
Photo of Roy Green Professor Roy Green
Dean, The Dean's Unit, University of Technology Sydney
Roy gained his doctorate from the University of Cambridge and has led projects for the OECD's National Innovation Systems programme and the European Union's Seventh Framework Programme for Research and Technological Development (FP7).
Download presentation slides (PDF)
Photo of Nicolas Gruen Nicholas Gruen
CEO, Lateral Economics
Lateral Economics' CEO is Nicholas Gruen, an economist with three decades of achievement and experience in the public sector, business and academia.
Download presentation slides (PDF)
Senia Kalfa Dr Senia Kalfa
Research Fellow, Macquarie University
Dr Senia Kalfa is a Research Fellow in the Department of Marketing & Management and Management Practices Coordinator, Faculty of Business and Economics, Macquarie University
Download presentation slides (PDF)
Photo of Steve Knott Steve Knott
Chief Executive, Australian Mines and Metals Association
Steve Knott has been AMMA's Chief Executive since 1998. On behalf of resource industry employers in Australia, Steve leads AMMA's workforce lobbying efforts to government, opposition and other relevant stakeholders at state and federal government levels.
Download presentation slides (PDF)
Photo of Erik Locke Erik Locke
Director, Marketing and Policy at APESMA
Prior to working at APESMA, Erik spent 16 years in politics, management and communications across Western Australia, Victoria, Queensland and our capital. Recently he has been a key player in the work of the Australian National Engineering Taskforce and authored 'Realising an Innovation Economy' and has been our lead advocate for a national registration scheme for engineers.
Photo of Tim Lyons Tim Lyons
Assistant Secretary, ACTU
Tim's responsibilities as an ACTU Officer include management of the organising and union education programs, the industrial and policy unit, superannuation and retirement incomes, and the corporate research/strategic campaigning capacity.
Download presentation slides (PDF)
Ray Markey Professor Ray Markey
Director, Centre for Workforce Futures, Faculty of Business & Economics, Macquarie University
Professor Ray Markey joined Macquarie University at the end of 2011 as Professor of Employment Relations in the Department of Marketing and Management and Director of the new Centre for Workforce Futures. He had previously spent almost seven years as Professor of Employment Relations at the Auckland University of Technology Business School (2005-11), and was Foundation Director of the New Zealand Work and Labour Market Institute (2006-11) as well as Associate Dean Research (2006-9). 
Photo of Rachel Nickless Rachel Nickless
Editor of Work Space, Australian Financial Review
Rachel Nickless is editor of Work Space at the Australian Financial Review and has a passion for creating better workplaces. 
Photo of Peter Roberts Peter Roberts
Senior writer, Australian Financial Review
Peter Roberts is a leading editor and writer on business and management in the fields of innovation, technology, manufacturing, management and government policy. 
Iain Ross Justice Iain Ross, AO
President, Fair Work Australia
On 1 March, Iain was appointed Judge of the Federal Court and President of Fair Work Australia. Prior to his present appointment, Iain was appointed Judge of the Supreme Court of Victoria on 9 November 2009 and from 1 April 2010 to 23 February 2012 he was the President of the Victorian Civil and Administrative Tribunal.
Iain is also currently Chair of the Council of Australasian Tribunals, a position he has held since June 2009.
Download presentation slides (PDF)
Robin Shreeve Robin Shreeve
CEO of the Australian Workforce and Productivity Agency (AWPA)
Robin began his working life in the steel industry. For the past 30 years he has worked in the skills sector in Australia and England. He has been the CEO of a TAFE Institute in NSW and a College of Further and Higher Education in London. In between those appointments he was deputy director-general TAFE and Community Education in NSW.
Download presentation slides (PDF)
Photo of Steve Vamos Steve Vamos
President, Society for Knowledge Economics
Steve Vamos is an information technology and online media industry leader who understands the challenges of operating in the connected and fast changing economy we work in today. 
Innes Willox Innes Wilox
Chief executive, Australian Industry Group
Innes currently has responsibility for policy development and advocacy across the federal and state government systems including in the areas of trade, defense, climate change, industrial relations and communications and technology issues.